Damn Spam!

Spam in the user agent string


Some of the user agent strings I've seen have bordered on being spam but this one takes the cake: - - [15/Jun/2005:00:05:27 -0400] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 49441 "-" "The biggest cloud of domain name registrars, domain name registration prices, domain name classifications, domain name select suggestions, domain name on sale information, and the in depth analysis of domain names! http://sitesearchbydomain.com libwww-perl/5.65"

Despite the name, the site doesn't have a search option, but only provides a list of domain registrars.

It's registered and hosted with Schlund + Partner (part of the huge German "United Internet" conglomerate) and owned by a Xijie Yu in Atlanta.

I see we received a bunch of those spams back on June 8. If we get more of those, I'm going to test what Schlund's abuse department (which is a bit slow sometimes, but working) thinks of these ...

In the meantime, I'm left wondering what the point of the exercise is. There don't appear to be any affiliate IDs on that site and no ads either.

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/user-agent-spam

Here's what others have to say about 'Spam in the user agent string':

Damn Spam! - Double spam
Tracked on Monday, October 03 2005 @ 10:03 CEST

Spam in the user agent string | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.

Copyright © 2015 Damn Spam! Powered by Geeklog