Damn Spam!
Search 

Affiliate spam from the UK

   

We're currently seeing bursts of referrer spam from 82.3.32.77 (NTL Internet, UK) with all sorts of faked referrers, all of which contain affiliate IDs (details below). What's irritating is that we have logs of legit requests from that IP at least as far back as March. Either this IP address is shared (it may be a proxy, although the node name doesn't indicate it) or someone has thoroughly checked us out before he decided to spam us ...

The affiliate IDs used are aid=653455 (for a bunch of sites all registered to Ultra Herbal, LLC, e.g. attractmate.com), 142 and 474 (for prstorm.com, a "SEO" site), ref=caravelle (for hyipfunds.com, investment), and 594 (for prelaunchsecrets.com, some obscure "product launch" site).

Ultra Herbal, LLC has an affiliate scheme by the name of "Joe Bucks" and our friend here is spamming for at least 8 sites under that scheme. Their Terms Of Service do sound sane, disallowing email spam and such, but not referrer spam. However, this case here certainly counts as "inappropriate marketing", so I'll give them the benefit of doubt and shoot them an email ...

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/uk-affiliate-spam

No trackback comments for this entry.
Affiliate spam from the UK | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog