Damn Spam!
Search 

Think of the children!

   

It's that time of the year again and someone seems to be in a bit of a rush trying to make the most of it. This hit one of my sites this morning:

Happy Kids is a charity organization in Poland who help and support the community in the Central and East Europe region through his tireless efforts to help children of all ages.

Find out more about the people behind the Happy Kids Charity Organization and why they inspire others to help and make a difference at
http://happykids-eu.org

Happy Kids

http://happykids-eu.org
Poland
Pulkowa st. 29,
02-776 Warsaw
Phone/Fax: +48 (22) 389 6832

Aww. Heartwarming, isn't it? Only, if that organisation is located in Poland, then why did the post come from a Chinese IP address? And even better: At the time, the domain name didn't even resolve.

It does now - but there's no content on there yet. Just a bunch of files and empty directories, plus one password-protected "_private" directory.

And for a supposedly Polish org, they sure get around: Posted from China, hosted in Texas (75.126.132.7, with SoftLayer Technologies Inc.), and registered to a Harry Langdon in Los Angeles. Harry Langdon?

Okay, this is so fishy, I bet it will be fun to watch.

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/think-of-the-children

No trackback comments for this entry.
Think of the children! | 5 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Think of the children!

Okay, they've got an even more heart-warming site up now. So you can support 6-year old Kevin who lives in Russia (sure sounds like a typical Russian name ...), for example.

I also note that the contact email for "Katy Wilson, Manager" is @kids-eu.org (without the "happy"). And, sure enough, on http://kids-eu.org you'll find the same page again. Only it's on a different server (88.255.78.75), located in Turkey.

Also, that second domain is registered to a "Larry Tomson" in Paris who, for whatever reason, seems to use an ibm.com email address.

So we have two identical sites, located on different servers, the domains registered by different people (with fishy addresses) and with no mention of that supposed organisation in the whois entries. Yeah, looks totally trustworthy to me ...

Authored by: Dirk on Wednesday, December 19 2007 @ 03:52 CET
Someone thought of the children ...

Hmm, that didn't last long - hosting for happykids-eu.org has apparently been suspended. kids-eu.org, however, is still online with the same content.

Authored by: Dirk on Friday, December 28 2007 @ 05:43 CET
Someone thought of the children ...

kids-eu.org is now gone, too.

Authored by: Dirk on Saturday, January 26 2008 @ 09:24 CET
Someone thought of the children ...
Been replaced with; childreneurope,(had a spam today).
Authored by: Anonymous on Thursday, February 21 2008 @ 07:17 CET
Someone thought of the children ...
Yea I know what you mean. The whois info for the domain seems to be fake as well for childreneurope.org

---
Ironmax
Authored by: ironmax on Friday, February 22 2008 @ 04:44 CET

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog