Damn Spam!
Search 

Scraper site

   

Usually, when you see words like "password" and "sex" in a referrer's URL, it's referrer spam. However, in this case it was clearly a human visitor, so I just had to take a closer look at the referring site with the unobtrusive URL of passwordsites.mogspassword.com/passwordsexsites. And there, in the middle of a gazillion variations of the word "password", was this:

Geeklog - The Ultimate Weblog System
... 3/0) User Functions Username: Password: Don't have an account yet ... drugs, and finance / mortgage sites? Then you're most likely on ... the most on your Geeklog site? Sex / Porn Drugs / Pills Poker ...

The first line being a link to us, hence the referrer. And that is an actual (though abbreviated) quote from our site, where we have a poll about the sort of spam our users are getting. That sentence in the middle is from my post about the Bulgarians and the "password" is from our login form.

So now that that has been explained - what's the actual use of that site? Obviously an attempt to get a high ranking for all these various "uses" of passwords, while using content scraped from other sites to soothe the search engines.

What I don't get is what they get out of it, once they've lured some poor soul to visit that site. There don't seem to be any ads, redirects, or affiliate IDs on that site. Nor are there any actual passwords. Just a bunch of variations of the word "password" and lots and lots of links to pages on the same site that have pretty much the same non-content. Odd.

What's also odd is that they even have a feed for the scraped content and a blog (running WordPress), although that's empty.

The domain is registered for a company called Herb LLC in Tucson, Arizona, and is hosted at 70.86.121.3 (The Planet), as is that company's domain, herbllc.com (at 70.84.63.146), which, btw, is registered to the same Jimmy Smith who is also the administrative contact for mogspassword.com

Since there's no actual spamming happening here, AFAICS, I'm filing this under "oddities" for now ...

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/scraper-site

Here's what others have to say about 'Scraper site':

Damn Spam! - Here comes the gibberish
Tracked on Saturday, November 26 2005 @ 12:40 CET

Scraper site | 1 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
There are ads on that site

As Ann Elisabeth pointed out to me (Thanks!), there's a failed attempt to show Adsense ads on that site. The Adsense code is in an external JavaScript, which doesn't seem to work (Adsense ID: pub-0684527084384657).

Also, when I call up the site in Safari (instead of Firefox / Flock), it displays ads to the left of the picture of that woman. The links on those ads go via mm.chitika.net and stat.dealtime.com and end up at computerhq.com, so there's probably some affiliate ID embedded in those URLs somewhere.

Lots of sloppy coding here, obviously ...

Authored by: Dirk on Saturday, November 05 2005 @ 13:45 CET

Copyright © 2012 Damn Spam! Powered by Geeklog