Damn Spam!
Search 

OmniExplorer_Bot

   

This is actually a (slightly updated) repost of some observations I originally posted on the geeklog-spam mailing list:

This somewhat baffled me. I came across quite a few entries in the geeklog.net logfiles that seemed to indicate that someone was referrer spamming for Geeklog sites:

64.71.131.111 - - [19/May/2005:03:00:04 -0400] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 48556 "http://www.vivelecanada.ca/staticpages/index.php/ribbon" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.6) Gecko/20040206 Firefox/0.8"
64.71.131.111 - - [19/May/2005:07:39:54 -0400] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 48342 "http://www.datingsitesreviews.com/staticpages/index.php?page=0LinkPartnersExchangeInfo" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.6) Gecko/20040206 Firefox/0.8"

No other requests from that IP, i.e. no attempts to load the images or the stylesheet. Usually, that's a strong indicator for referrer spam (unless it's a text-based browser, like Lynx).

Poking around in the logiles brought up more such requests, from similar IP addresses and with the same user agent (Firefox 0.8 is unusual enough these days). Eventually, I came across this:

64.71.131.113 - - [19/May/2005:00:13:59 -0400] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 403 26 "http://www.ecomwebd.net/geeklog/" "OmniExplorer_Bot/1.07 (+http://www.omni-explorer.com) Internet Categorizer"

Similar IP address, again coming from a Geeklog site. But look at the user agent ...

As you can see from the response code (403, i.e. Access Denied), I've already blocked this bot. It caused a few 404s and a bit of load occasionally. It also doesn't exactly tell you a lot about itself when you visit http://www.omni-explorer.com (which is an empty page, stating "comming soon" - yes, "comming" - very professional-looking ...), so I figured it wouldn't be a loss.

Looks like they're visiting the pages with a different user agent string on occasion (Googlebot is supposedly doing the same, btw).

Initially, I've decided against blocking the IP range the bot comes from, but when it wouldn't stop I changed my mind and did just that. In the meantime, other sites report seeing the same thing.

Btw, this is the only bot I've seen so far that actually sends referrers. Googlebot and friends don't do that, hence my confusion.

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/omniexplorer-bot

Here's what others have to say about 'OmniExplorer_Bot':

OmniExplorer_Bot ?
I own 3 websites and have banned the “OmniExplorer_Bot” on all 3. Why? Several Reasons: The first time I saw the bot in my logs, it never fetched the robots.txt file and the proceeded to crawl the site. It crawled the site fetching 3 to 5 ... [read more]
Tracked on Wednesday, April 12 2006 @ 15:44 CEST

OmniExplorer_Bot | 2 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Omni Explorer gobbles 300 megabytes

Did I mention that it would be a good idea to block that bot? Well, Ann Elisabeth learned it the hard way.

Authored by: Dirk on Monday, May 23 2005 @ 23:23 CEST
More IP ranges

We had a few more visits from our friendly bot here, but from different IP ranges this time:

  • 65.19.134.5 - 65.19.134.7
  • 65.19.169.226 - 65.19.169.254

He also came from 65.19.169.246 in the "Firefox/0.8" disguise.

Authored by: Dirk on Thursday, May 26 2005 @ 20:59 CEST

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog