Damn Spam!
Search 

Odd bot

   

I should really have noticed this one much earlier. I stumbled across lots of requests from a single IP address, 192.55.214.54, drawn out over a long period of time. The earliest one I could find was back on July 21st. This is apparently some sort of bot and uses "Microsoft_Internet_Explorer_5.00.439rh (fjones@isd.net)" as its user agent string.

The IP address belongs to securecomputing.com, who apparently sell some sort of web filter. So I guess this bot collects data for that filter.

What's annoying about this thing is that it doesn't bother checking the robots.txt. Instead, it only looks for a zzrobots.txt. What sort of nonsense is that? If you want to crawl our sites for commercial reasons, please at least have the decency and follow the standards.

Others have seen this bot, too, and came to the same conclusion: If it doesn't play nicely, block it.

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/odd-bot

No trackback comments for this entry.
Odd bot | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog