And another case where Bad Behavior saved the day: I just noticed a bunch of referrer spams for completely idiotic URLs ending in hop.clickbank - that's not even a valid domain name, you numbnut!
It's all coming from a single IP address, 70.188.121.186, i.e. Cox. That same IP address has been spamming for 3brothersonline.com on the 23rd and 25th - all nicely caught by Bad Behavior.
3brothersonline.com is registered with GoDaddy, using a name protection service. It's hosted at 216.171.218.222 with a company called MarkeTrends Productions, located in Loomis, CA (the address looks bogus, actually - 5555 Joan way?!). The company not only hosts sites but also does site developing
. I wonder if spamming is one of the techniques they recommend?
Anyway, the spamvertized 3brothersonline URLs are redirecting via clickbank.net (that's the bit our amateur spammer here forgot to include in his URLs). The redirects end up at surveyscout.com with hop=crossinc as the referrer id (the crossinc is also part of today's failed spamming attempts).
surveyscout.com have a nice anti-spam policy document on their site. I guess I'll have to test if they really mean it ...
[Correction] On closer inspection, not all the spamvertized URLs redirect to surveyscout.com. In fact, he seems to be spamming for a lot of affiliate programs (blog-blast.com, goldmaker.com, etc.), but always uses crossinc as the affiliate ID.
Comments (0)
Damn Spam!
http://spam.tinyweb.net/article.php/no-hop-via-clickbank