Damn Spam!
Search 

No hop via clickbank [updated]

   

And another case where Bad Behavior saved the day: I just noticed a bunch of referrer spams for completely idiotic URLs ending in hop.clickbank - that's not even a valid domain name, you numbnut!

It's all coming from a single IP address, 70.188.121.186, i.e. Cox. That same IP address has been spamming for 3brothersonline.com on the 23rd and 25th - all nicely caught by Bad Behavior.

3brothersonline.com is registered with GoDaddy, using a name protection service. It's hosted at 216.171.218.222 with a company called MarkeTrends Productions, located in Loomis, CA (the address looks bogus, actually - 5555 Joan way?!). The company not only hosts sites but also does site developing. I wonder if spamming is one of the techniques they recommend?

Anyway, the spamvertized 3brothersonline URLs are redirecting via clickbank.net (that's the bit our amateur spammer here forgot to include in his URLs). The redirects end up at surveyscout.com with hop=crossinc as the referrer id (the crossinc is also part of today's failed spamming attempts).

surveyscout.com have a nice anti-spam policy document on their site. I guess I'll have to test if they really mean it ...

[Correction] On closer inspection, not all the spamvertized URLs redirect to surveyscout.com. In fact, he seems to be spamming for a lot of affiliate programs (blog-blast.com, goldmaker.com, etc.), but always uses crossinc as the affiliate ID.

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/no-hop-via-clickbank

Here's what others have to say about 'No hop via clickbank [updated]':

Referral Spam from Spacequad AntiSpam Services
I came across this really nice article from ColdForge.org and wanted to pass it along to everyone else out there. The author discusses how you can deal with that pesky referral spam. Here is the link to that article killing-referral-spam. Another... [read more]
Tracked on Tuesday, March 06 2007 @ 08:53 CET

No hop via clickbank [updated] | 3 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
No more hopping

According to Steve Little of surveyscout.com, it's clickbank.net managing the affiliate program for them. So they will be my next point of contact (should really have thought of that earlier). But at least Steve assured me that referrals from "crossinc" will not be credited. Thanks.

Also, I can't help noticing that the referrer spam stopped soon after I contacted Cox, our friend's ISP ...

Authored by: Dirk on Wednesday, February 01 2006 @ 21:18 CET
A response from ClickBank - and from the spammer!

Okay, so ClickBank was quick to respond:

We have notified the user "crossinc" that they have been charged with a spam complaint. ClickBank has no tolerance for spammers. Spam damages our brand name and irritates the Internet community at large. We will terminate his account if there is no action taken.

So far, so good. I would have preferred an immediate termination of the account, but maybe I was the only one complaining.

But they apparently also gave my email address to the spammer, since I also received this email from a Jeff Nelson:

Corrective action has been taken. I apoligize for any disrubtions I may have caused, this was not intentional. Thank you for the notice.

Excuse me? How can you hammer a site for several days and then claim it was "not intentional"? And what were ClickBank thinking when they gave out my email address?

Authored by: Dirk on Thursday, February 02 2006 @ 21:11 CET
A response from ClickBank - and from the spammer!
I know the guy that you are talking about.
He doesn't even know how to use a computer.
A frind of his was going to show him how to make mony
on the internet. LOL

Guess he will just have to keep working with me at the shop.

Authored by: little eagle on Thursday, February 09 2006 @ 23:05 CET

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog