Damn Spam!
Search 

New year, same old stupidity

   

Dear spammer at 79.142.68.99,

I'm glad to see that you finally figured out how your spam software works:

  1. attempt at 8:29am: "comment3, "
  2. attempt at 9:29am: "comment4, "
  3. attempt at 10:29am: "comment6, "
  4. attempt at 11:28am: "comment1, "
  5. attempt at 12:28pm: "comment6, "
  6. attempt at 2:36pm: You did it! Finally a text with 30 links to http://zabagu5te.info - congrats!

Once you figured that one out, you started sending more of the same, always using different domains. I see you got a bunch of nice .info domains there: taganide.info, tabarge7.info, takaji4re.info, taruji7re.info, zabagu5te.info. All of them seem to be hosted with German hoster Hetzner. I bet their abuse department will be pleased. Hope those domains were cheap ...

As for the source of all that crap: Well, 79.142.68.99 belongs to AltusHost, who manage to state their country as NL but give an address in Belize. That, and the fact that I've seen a lot of spam from AltusHost-IPs recently, plus the non-favourable comments I found about them on the web are telling me that I shouldn't expect too much from their abuse department.

In any case, dear spammer, please keep on spamming. The more domain names you burn through, the better ...

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/new-year-same-old

No trackback comments for this entry.
New year, same old stupidity | 8 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
New year, same old stupidity

More spam came in over night for samoksi6y.info, sabahi4te.info, kabarkiop.info, gadge9ko.info, artagil2y.info.

But that was it, it seems. All those .info domains (including the above list) are now displaying an "Account Suspended" message. Assuming it isn't the spammer trying to throw me a curve ball: Kudos to Hetzner for the prompt reaction.

No reaction from AltusHost so far (surprise!).

In the meantime, I couldn't help noticing "test spam", i.e. spam with links to non-existing domains, starting to come from another AltusHost IP address, 79.142.67.85. Let's see what's next ...

Authored by: Dirk on Tuesday, January 04 2011 @ 20:54 CET
New year, same old stupidity

Ah, here's the original spammer (79.142.68.99) again. This time he created a bunch of fake profile pages on the (apparently innocent) theoildrum.com site and is now spamming for those. Content: Pills and drugs.

Response from AltusHost: None. Conclusion, in case that wasn't clear already: AltusHost is knowingly and willingly hosting spammers.

Authored by: Dirk on Thursday, January 06 2011 @ 16:25 CET
New target

So after the poor souls at theoildrum.com managed to prevent creation of new spammy user profiles, our spammer friend has moved on and is now creating spam pages at mysoulspot.com. Report sent. Still no reply from AltusHost (after a reminder email), which in my book makes them an official hoster of spammers now.

Authored by: Dirk on Friday, January 07 2011 @ 20:06 CET
Still at it

After a brief stint spamming the forums at sgdotnet.org (and in turn spamming for the spam he left there), our spammer friend here, in his safe haven at spammer-friendly hoster AltusHost, is currently spamming for what I guess are member profiles at design21sdn.com. However, that site is currently down (503 Service Unavailable), so it's just a waste of bandwidth.

Authored by: Dirk on Friday, January 14 2011 @ 23:35 CET
EA? Really?

Dear spammer at 79.142.68.99,
Do you really think it's a good idea to try to spam forum.ea.com? And do you really think your spam there would survive long enough so that by the time your comment spam reaches me, it'll still be there? If you answered "yes" to both questions (and why else would you spam for URLs at forum.ea.com) then you're really, really stupid.

Authored by: Dirk on Thursday, January 20 2011 @ 12:33 CET
Hop, hop, hop

I notice the cycles in which our spammer friend here is switching sites is getting shorter. Thanks to the spammed sites removing his spam faster. Yes, I do pass that information on as soon as the first spam lands on my site (not this one, btw).

So in the last 24 hours, the spammer burned through adsoftheworld.com, my.gardenguides.com, and right now he's using splinder.com (just to be clear: all of those sites are victims and do not belong to the spammer).

splinder.com is the second time now where he's using an Italian site. Coincidence?

Authored by: Dirk on Friday, January 21 2011 @ 16:20 CET
On the importance of removing spam ...

So our spammer friend here briefly used maxblog.pl before going back and using splinder.com again. Both services don't seem to be interested in removing the spam from their sites. Kudos on the other hand to chess.com, whose blog he's currently spamming for. But none of the URLs work. I assume (hope) that they have been quick to remove the spam.

Authored by: Dirk on Monday, January 24 2011 @ 20:41 CET
Still Stupid

Please continue to send me SPAM, I am retired and enjoy reporting you.
Thanks again!

Authored by: Anonymous on Friday, June 24 2011 @ 21:45 CEST

Copyright © 2013 Damn Spam! Powered by Geeklog