Damn Spam!
Search 

Nasty trackbacks

   

I got three odd trackbacks on the site last night. They were all for the same article, came from all over the place (USA, Sweden) but all followed a pattern: The spamvertized URL was a subdomain that had something to do with music (beach-music, free-music-code-com, dr-dre-forgot-about-dre-music-lyrics). The main domains contained name of women and all ended in ...blog.info: anjaroxinblog.info, annamariablog.info, alianablog.info.

Don't visit those sites! There are all sorts of redirects and nasty JavaScripts involved here. It's been a while since I saw a popup open by itself in Firefox ... Some of the redirects aren't exactly safe for work either.

Back to the analysis: All three domains have only been registered on 2005-12-24, in all cases supposedly by the women who's names they carry, although those names and addresses are most likely fake. The sites themselves are hosted in Russia (on 212.158.165.152 and 217.23.143.17, belonging to Caravan Hosting in Moscow).

The most stupid thing about those trackbacks, though, was that the spamvertized URLs were missing the http:// part and were therefore useless ...

Digging through the logfiles, I also found a huge amount of other trackbacks, all targetting the same article as the three above, that had been blocked by Bad Behavior. That actually started two days ago. Both the successful and the blocked Trackbacks feature the same user agent string: "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows NT 5.0)"

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/nasty-trackbacks

Here's what others have to say about 'Nasty trackbacks':

Damn Spam! - Stupid, stupid, stupid
Tracked on Tuesday, April 25 2006 @ 09:59 CEST

Damn Spam! - Block 212.24.48.* (Caravan)
Tracked on Saturday, December 09 2006 @ 16:16 CET

Damn Spam! - Geocities trackback spam
Tracked on Tuesday, July 10 2007 @ 19:46 CEST

Nasty trackbacks | 2 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
More of the same

And it continued through the night. Most of the trackbacks have been caught by Bad Behavior due to a certain anomaly in the HTTP headers. A few, though, made it through since I had deactivated one of the spam filter modules (oops):

The spamvertized URLs are still missing the http:// and still follow the pattern 'music.*blog.info', which makes a nice filter criterion. And they're still all directed at the same article on this site.

The trackbacks are mostly coming via the far east now (Korea, China, Japan), so they're probably using open proxies (but too many to block them individually).

The ...blog.info domains are all registered with Public Domain Registry (PDR). I guess it's worth a try sending a complaint their way ...

Authored by: Dirk on Monday, January 30 2006 @ 09:51 CET
Still pounding the site

Also add 'mp3.*blog.info' to your filtering rules.

Authored by: Dirk on Thursday, February 02 2006 @ 07:55 CET

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog