Damn Spam!
Search 

More on OmniExplorer_Bot

   

On a forum that linked to my previous post about the IP adresses used by OmniExplorer_Bot now starting to do referrer spam, I found this:

When you call up 216.40.249.17 in a browser, you get a website about a "Wheelscape Explorer Pro" with a note "Powered by Omni-Explorer Technologies" at the bottom. That note links to www.omni-explorer.com, which still only displays a "coming soon" message (but they've corrected the spelling mistake now).

The interesting bit is that www.omni-explorer.com is hosted on that very server, i.e. 216.40.249.17.

On that "Wheelscape Explorer" page you learn that it is The ultimate car search tool for car dealers, brokers, insurance and leasing companies and other automotive professionals. So I guess it's safe to assume that it gets its data from the OmniExplorer_Bot when it comes with the "Cars Crawler" addition in its user agent string.

The site also has a download link for the product, but it's not working. Speaking of products: The "product" link in the site's menu links to a file "produkte.htm". "Produkte" is the German word for "products". Hmm ...

Anyway, this is the first time that I've actually seen any use of the data that the bot is supposedly collecting. Although I still wonder what the "Cars Crawler" incarnation expects to find on geeklog.net. If that's any indication of the quality of the data ...

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/more-on-omniexplorer-Bot

No trackback comments for this entry.
More on OmniExplorer_Bot | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog