Damn Spam!
Search 

Greetings from Pakistan

   

Manual spam, from either cheap labour or dedicated individuals, is becoming a real nuisance. On the heels of that other twit, we are now seeing such spam coming from a small range of IP addresses: 202.69.40.1 - 202.69.40.15, belonging to Gerrys Information Technology (GERRYSNET) in Pakistan.

Again, someone's registering new accounts just to spam. And again, it doesn't faze them that their accounts are being closed down or that their spam is rejected automatically. In fact, that's so similar to that social bookmarking spam that I'm wondering if there's a connection.

This has been going on at geeklog.net for a few days now and he just hit this site last night. He's always including a sentence or two that, at first glance, seems relevant to the site. But the posts all end with links to sites like onlineeducationfacts.com and essayexpert.co.uk.

On a side note, the next IP address block, starting at 202.69.40.16, also belongs to Gerrysnet, but is assigned to Siemens Pakistan. That may be a coincidence, of course.

Anyway, all this is just one more nail in the coffin of CAPTCHAs ...

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/manual-spam-from-pakistan

No trackback comments for this entry.
Greetings from Pakistan | 1 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Greetings from Pakistan

In fact, I just realised that the "somewhat relevant" comments have simply been lifted from the same site. For example, he took my comment here, added his links, and tried to post it as new comment to this story.

Authored by: Dirk on Saturday, December 06 2008 @ 10:37 CET

Copyright © 2012 Damn Spam! Powered by Geeklog