Damn Spam!
Search 

Hollywood Interactive?

   

This probably isn't really spam-related, but they're annoying nonetheless.

Over the last couple of weeks, I've noticed requests from quite a few IP addresses, all belonging to some company named Hollywood Interactive, Inc., that had all been blocked by Bad Behavior.

From the whois information, this looks like it could be a hosting service or ISP, but I couldn't find their homepage and they don't list any email addresses either. They use the nameservers from calpop.com (and their website offers dedicated servers). So this is either some reseller or something different altogether. In fact, I found a few posts that connect this company with P2P and torrent sites. I don't know anything about that stuff but I got the impression that they're serving ads and/or possibly acting as a front for the movie industry.

In any case, I don't see any reason why they should be spidering our sites so I decided to block their IP address range: 64.27.0.0 - 64.27.31.255 (or 64.27.0.0/19).

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/hollywood-interactive

No trackback comments for this entry.
Hollywood Interactive? | 7 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Hollywood Interactive?
"Big Brother watching". These were the guys hitting my website as coming from verizon Found who these guys are:
1. http://www.webhostingtalk.com/archive/index.php/t-553536.html 2. http://securemylinuxbox.com/viewarticle.php?id=47
3. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyveillance
and 1 more link very important:
4. http://cyveillance.linuxgod.net/
now that is corruption or what?!
Authored by: ironmax on Tuesday, June 12 2007 @ 00:48 CEST
Hollywood Interactive?
I am glad to find this website.

I have been having same problem with this Hollywood Interactive outfit. I have several dental videos on the site. Yet.... these folks are spidering all 2000 content pages... very strange.

Blocked them from the servers.
Authored by: Anonymous on Saturday, July 21 2007 @ 04:35 CEST
Hollywood Interactive?
i run a site hosted on their server through a reseller...think im gettin screwed if you have any info on them please give me an email at chaoticsjedi@yahoo.com ..i am having a hard time tracing actual company
Authored by: Anonymous on Monday, August 20 2007 @ 05:42 CEST
Hollywood Interactive?
I think they are spidering for email addresses they can use for spam. Their address 64.27.20.246 is being used by koonsmazda.cn to receive links from their email spam activities. They are using my companies email as the sending email in their spam campaingn at the moment and I urge anyone suffering the same problem to search their backbone supplier and get it shut down.

Network operations for them is

Name: CalPOP Network Operations
Handle: CNO4-ARIN
Company: ATMLINK Inc.
Address: 600 W. 7th Street
Address: Suite 360
City: Los Angeles
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 90017
Country: US
Comment:
RegDate: 2003-01-10
Updated: 2003-09-10
Phone: +1-213-627-1937 (Office)
Email: noc@calpop.com
Authored by: Anonymous on Friday, September 07 2007 @ 15:31 CEST
Hollywood Interactive?
Not only are they still doing it, they seem to have an additional block of IP addresses now (new company name, same mailing address). My blog was getting pounded by their spidering from both the "Hollywood Interactive" AND this new "CoreExpress" netblock simultaneously:
OrgName: CoreExpress
OrgID: COEX
Address: 600 W. 7th Street
Address: Suite 360
City: Los Angeles
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 90017
Country: US

NetRange: 64.69.32.0 - 64.69.47.255
CIDR: 64.69.32.0/20
NetName: COREEXPRESS-BLK-1
NetHandle: NET-64-69-32-0-1
Parent: NET-64-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.CALPOP.COM
NameServer: NS2.CALPOP.COM
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate: 2000-04-11
Updated: 2004-08-06

RNOCHandle: ZC46-ARIN
RNOCName: ipadmin
RNOCPhone: +1-213-627-1937
RNOCEmail: ipadmin@coreexpress.net

RTechHandle: ZC46-ARIN
RTechName: ipadmin
RTechPhone: +1-213-627-1937
RTechEmail: ipadmin@coreexpress.net

OrgTechHandle: ZC46-ARIN
OrgTechName: ipadmin
OrgTechPhone: +1-213-627-1937
OrgTechEmail: ipadmin@coreexpress.net
Authored by: Anonymous on Saturday, May 31 2008 @ 19:26 CEST
Hollywood Interactive?
Hey, Dirk, isn't Bad Behavior blocking these? It is for me.
Authored by: Anonymous on Sunday, July 13 2008 @ 16:19 CEST
Hollywood Interactive?

Yes, it does block them. I did mention that in the article above ;-)

Authored by: Dirk on Sunday, July 13 2008 @ 16:33 CEST

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog