Damn Spam!
Search 

Geocities trackback spam

   

Ah, Geocities - that brings back memories: I had my first homepage on Geocities, back in 2000, before I had my first own domain ... sigh

Of course, the reason I mention Geocities here is a completely different one: Some idiot is sending trackback spam for pages on Geocities. The URLs are made up of names followed by a two-digit number, e.g. GarrettBuck31, LewisShannon83, DonnPotter77, etc.

The text of the trackback contains a headline scraped from the site he's spamming. So on this site, for example, I'm seeing spam that includes "Trackback spammer (2nd update)", "Nasty trackbacks", etc. How fitting ...

The title of the trackback spam usually contains the words "adult cam", and that's what it's for: The Geocities URLs redirect to wellcams.com and include an affiliate ID (877:1), so it's probably some amateur spammer trying get some money from those.

The good news: Many of the Geocities URLs don't work. So either their abuse department is after them or the spammer is using non-working links (wouldn't be the first time). And, of course, none of those trackbacks make it through.

Dear spammers: Trackback spam is dead. Get used to it.

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/geocities-trackback-spam

No trackback comments for this entry.
Geocities trackback spam | 2 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
More Geocities trackback spam

He's back - the same sort of geocities.com accounts (e.g. "GeorgeSheppard80") only now they're redirecting to hqtube.com and the affiliate ID is 3169070000.

Authored by: Dirk on Wednesday, August 29 2007 @ 19:55 CEST
More Geocities trackback spam

Still at it, still redirecting to hqtube.com, still with the same affiliate ID.

While Geocities doesn't seem to do a lot (if anything) about the dozens, if not hundreds, of sites that this spammer has set up by now, at least one other host is doing something: While the majority of the spams use Geocities URLs, some of them use 1sweethost.com - but those that I checked out don't work any more and display a note This site has been banned for SPAM violations.

Of course, this being trackback spam, not one of them made it through to any of the sites he tried to spam, so it's all just a huge waste of time and resources ...

Authored by: Dirk on Saturday, September 08 2007 @ 10:08 CEST

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog