Damn Spam!
Search 

Barack Obama hosting trojans?

   

I guess with the right sort of motivation (and a political agenda), you could make a much more interesting headline out of this URL:

http://my.barackobama.com/page/community/blog/kiddieporn

Yes, that's the official homepage of the presidential candidate for the US democrats, Barack Obama. No, it's not what it says. It's a page that displays what looks like an embedded video and asks you to "Click here to see movie". When you do that, you are redirected to another site that tells you that you need to download a codec to see the video. Of course, that "codec" is a trojan that infects your (Windows) PC. So don't do that ...

Yes, I tried to alert the webmaster. That was more than 12 hours ago and this URL, together with a bunch of others of the same nature, is still live. In fact, the only reply I got so far is this:

Dirk--

Barack Obama is just 17 elected delegates away from a majority -- and you can help get him there.

And so on. Political spam, in other words. That's what you get trying to alert someone of a problem they have with their site. Just great.

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/barack-obama-hosting-trojans

No trackback comments for this entry.
Barack Obama hosting trojans? | 4 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Barack Obama hosting trojans?

Two details I've missed:

  1. The first spam posts with my.barackobama.com URLs arrived on this site last Wednesday.
  2. The spam posts look suspiciously like those that another spammer has been trying to post here for quite some time. Seems like he has branched out a little. Other spam posts from that general direction are now redirecting to a fake "online virus checker" (nothing new here) which also try to get you to download and install a trojan.
Authored by: Dirk on Saturday, May 17 2008 @ 09:52 CEST
More political spam

Sigh. Another email from the Obama site. Subject: "What's next". Unfortunately, it's not about the site abuse I was reporting, it's just more campaign stuff.

Which, btw, I didn't subscribe to. Did someone over there ever hear of "confirmed opt-in"? I used the contact webform to send in a "Website Suggestion". It doesn't say anywhere on that form that it will subscribe me to a campaign newsletter, nor did it send me any confirmation email.

Well, I sure hope Mr. Obama has better political advisors, because his tech staff is bordering on incompetence ...

Authored by: Dirk on Saturday, May 17 2008 @ 17:01 CEST
Barack Obama hosting trojans?
Abuse email sent to the registrar and to the rightful contact of the site in question. The offending link(s) should be removed shortly.



---
Ironmax
Authored by: ironmax on Sunday, May 18 2008 @ 09:57 CEST
Barack Obama hosting trojans?
Hey there!

I wonder if you know of this kind of spam: whacknews fu com takes the content of for example freegamer from blogspot and replaces words and then publishes it.

Obviously the way the page can be found is because of the url.

This is not spam. I mean come on.

No seriously. this spam detection is not sane.
Authored by: Anonymous on Wednesday, July 09 2008 @ 21:46 CEST

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog