It's all Chinese to me ...

Saturday, May 28 2005 @ 18:59 CEST

Contributed by: Dirk

Okay, apparently Baiduspider is a legit spider for a large Chinese search engine. I wonder, however, why it would do referrer spamming ...

202.102.3.22 - - [28/May/2005:11:44:15 -0400] "GET /article.php/ HTTP/1.1" 200 116 "http://www.chinamoulds.net/English/Crochet_machine.html" "Baiduspider+(+http://www.baidu.com/search/spider<a href=http://www.chinamoulds.net/English/Crochet_machine.html>.</a>htm)"

Several things are odd here:

  1. The inclusion of a referrer
  2. The inclusion of the referrer in the user agent string (and in HTML at that!)
  3. The fact that the referred URL displays what appears to be the Chinese version of a "500 Internal Server Error" of Microsoft's IIS
  4. The non-sensical URL it's trying to access here
  5. The fact that it comes from the same IP, with the same referrer, several times a day now.

I can only assume that this is a fake, but I have no idea why ...

Comments (0)


Damn Spam!
http://spam.tinyweb.net/article.php/baiduspider