Damn Spam!
Search 

abgood

   

This has been going on for a few days already: Someone apparently registered a bunch of domain names starting with abgood, followed by another letter and .info as the top level domain. At this moment, he's spamming for various subdomains of abgoodd.info, abgoode.info, and abgoodf.info. There's nothing on the "main" domain (www or no subdomain at all), but if you go to, for example, map-austrialia.abgoodf.info you are being redirected to yet another one of those fake search engine results.

Since this is such a nice and unique word, I'd suggest adding "abgood" to your spam filter and forget about it.

Btw, our spammer friend here registered almost all the letters of the alphabet after "abgood" (i.e. abgooda, abgoodb, etc.) - but forgot one. So guess who owns abgoodz.info now ;-)

View Printable Version

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://spam.tinyweb.net/trackback.php/abgood

No trackback comments for this entry.
abgood | 9 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
abgood

So, he's working his way through the alphabet. He's currently at 'm' and 'n' (haven't seen any abgoodn.info spam here on the site yet, but Google already returns a few hits). He seems to have skipped the 'l', though, for whatever reason.

So far, all the sites are hosted at the same IP address, 209.67.215.82, which seems to belong to a company named Savvis (and if I'm reading the whois info correctly, that's actually in an address range sublet to Layered Technologies).

Authored by: Dirk on Thursday, January 03 2008 @ 02:08 CET
Cathegory map?

We're up to 'p' now and hits for "abgoodq" and "abgoodr" can already be found on Google.

Since the subdomains he's using seemed to consist of arbitrary words (such as "la-vie-boheme-lyrics-rent.abgoodp.info") I thought that maybe it would simply take anything and redirect me to those "search engines". So I tried fuck-off.abgoodp.info.

Turns out that doesn't work as expected. Instead, it presents me a list of all the subdomains that are actually configured. And on the top of that page, it reads:

This page is cathegory map. You can see list of all pages, placed in this cathegory:

Yes, it says cathegory, not category.

On closer inspection, that list doesn't seem to be complete, though. For example, I spotted "jeri-ryan-divorce.abgoodp.info" in one of the spam notifications but it's not included in the above list. So whatever the use of that "cathegory" map is, it's not vital and was most likely created manually.

Authored by: Dirk on Friday, January 04 2008 @ 11:26 CET
New domain name

Looking through last night's spam notifications (we're up to abgoodo.info now), I also noticed a completely different domain name used in the same sort of spam: zaagood.cn. It does the same thing (redirects you to questionable search results) and is hosted on the same server (209.67.215.82). So this is the same guy.

And guess what? zabgood.cn, zacgood.cn, etc. also resolve to the same IP address. Add them to your spam filter already.

Authored by: Dirk on Sunday, January 06 2008 @ 09:14 CET
New domain names

... and here they are: Spam for zabgood.cn and zacgood.cn started hitting the site last night. Isn't it nice to have such a predictable spammer?

Authored by: Dirk on Monday, January 07 2008 @ 09:32 CET
Another new domain

A few hours ago, he also started spamming (in the same manner) for ctaill.com which, at this time, still doesn't resolve ...

He's also still using the other two domain name schemes, currently zafgood.cn and abgoodu.com.

Authored by: Dirk on Wednesday, January 09 2008 @ 07:56 CET
Another new domain

Spam for btaill.info just started hitting this site. This one resolves (to 72.232.57.192, see below) and works (in the usual manner). So looks like ctaill.com was some kind of accident ...

Authored by: Dirk on Friday, January 11 2008 @ 08:07 CET
And another domain

Here's another new domain from our "good" friend: ayhajri.info. This one works but is located on a new server: 72.232.57.192, belonging to Layered Technologies.

Love this entry from the whois for ayhajri.info, btw:

Registrant Name:Jon Michel
Registrant Organization:Cheap Drugs
Registrant Street1:Fagust ave. 32/23
Registrant City:New York
Registrant State/Province:3554
Registrant Postal Code:516541
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+565.54654564
Registrant Email:jonem@gmail.com

"Organization: Cheap Drugs" - 'nuff said ...

Authored by: Dirk on Friday, January 11 2008 @ 09:23 CET
And another domain

Apparently, the pattern with this name is to change the first letter: Spam for cyhajri.info just started coming in.

Authored by: Dirk on Saturday, January 12 2008 @ 07:01 CET
Here we go again ...

* sigh * Just when I thought he had finally given up (hadn't seen anything from this spammer in over a week) - he's back with a new domain: qwnewaw.info. Nice name, I hope it was cheap ...

Same as before: Mostly random collection of words as subdomains, redirecting to dubious "search engine" pages.

Authored by: Dirk on Friday, February 15 2008 @ 09:05 CET

Copyright © 2008 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog