Damn Spam!
Search 

Spam explaining spam

  View Printable Version 
Spam is the abuse of electronic messaging systems [...] While the most widely recognized form of spam is e-mail spam, the term is applied to similar abuses in other media: instant messaging spam, Usenet newsgroup spam, Web search engine spam, spam in blogs, wiki spam [...]

Yes, dear spammer, we all know what spam is. No need to quote Wikipedia. The funny thing is that the spam post ended with Examples of spam: and four links to the well-known spammer's haven narod.ru (and it was this, of course, which triggered the spam filter for this post).

read more

wordpress.com joe job?

  View Printable Version 

At 6:26 CET this morning, one of my sites was hit with (at least) 44 attempts to leave spam posts advertising "blog hosting" at wordpress.com.

It only lasted for a minute and IP addresses were from all over the world (China, Indonesia, but also ones belonging to Comcast). So this was your typical botnet in action.

Not sure what the point was, though. Either they wanted to discredit wordpress.com (i.e. a joe job). Or it was simply test spam, like we've seen it for all major search engines in the past. Odd in any case, though ...

Ballsy

  View Printable Version 

Okay, this gets a bonus point for being ballsy. From a comment that I just deleted from this site:

I have a question: can i ssppaamm in this topic ny sites to ads they?

No, you can't. Thanks for the IP range: 218.246.0.0/19 - some "Development & Research Center of State Council Net." in Beijing.

Greetings from Pakistan

  View Printable Version 

Manual spam, from either cheap labour or dedicated individuals, is becoming a real nuisance. On the heels of that other twit, we are now seeing such spam coming from a small range of IP addresses: 202.69.40.1 - 202.69.40.15, belonging to Gerrys Information Technology (GERRYSNET) in Pakistan.

Again, someone's registering new accounts just to spam. And again, it doesn't faze them that their accounts are being closed down or that their spam is rejected automatically. In fact, that's so similar to that social bookmarking spam that I'm wondering if there's a connection.

read more

Social Bookmarking spam

  View Printable Version 

Here's a URL that should be in everybody's spam filter: widecircles.com

Some idiot has been trying to (manually) spam for this site pretty much all of November. It doesn't faze him that his posts are deleted automatically. He registers new accounts, which are banned as soon as they start spamming - but he keeps on trying.

The spam posts themselves are coming from various IP addresses in India. He tries to spam our forums or tries to post comments, usually spouting marketing crap about how The social bookmarking will also improve your business by boosting your page rank. Yeah, sure.

Dear spammer, you're an idiot and on your website, you openly advocate spamming. Go away.

Copyright © 2009 Damn Spam! Powered By Geeklog